“I’ve had lots of happy times in my life like going to Germany to see my grandparents, and every single Christmas and Easter, but the saddest time of my life was when our house burned and we didn’t have a place to live anymore. Like a place with memories. We lived at Pop’s block in Kingscote for a while and it was pretty good but now we are back at the farm, it is nice here and I have gotten used to it.

But I do wish for our new house to get built, to be finished as we have been waiting forever and haven’t had a proper house for two years. I was very happy when they finally started building the house and when they got the stairs in a few days ago. Soon we will have a place to restart, make more memories, and I will have my own room again. It will become my hideout—I can write stories there, use my microscope and play with my Lego when I have more space.

My favourite thing to do is reading because you get to imagine what it looks like and what is happening in the story. You get to go to lots of places; I have travelled to London, England, and lots of times to America, be with wizards in Hogwarts, travel around the world in eighty days, hunt and gather with a pack of dogs and more. I also love talking about books and sharing what I’ve read with others.

I also love running around adventuring, spending time with my family and writing my own stories. My sister Kerily is the most fun person in my life, she is the most hilarious person I have ever met. We make cubbies in the scrub and she draws all the pictures for my stories. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, but maybe an author or illustrator; then I can read and write books as an author. That would be just perfect.”

Jordan writes book reviews on Instagram so others can always find good books for nine-year-olds. Follow him here.

Published by sabrinadavis5223

I am a German living in South Australia. We lost our home and farm in the Kangaroo island summer bushfires. I love travelling, reading, beach walks, board games, watching movies and spending time with my family.

Leave a Reply