“I am six years old and was born here. Mum and Dad are from the USA and I’ve been there maybe a couple of times, but I don’t really remember it. Because we can’t visit right now, I miss my grandparents. I remember going to a house with a statue of the three little pigs in front of it, it was in Abilene in Texas, and I want to go back there. That was my favourite story when I was little and it was so cool to see it.

I see my grandparents often on video calls and I also do arts stuff on FaceTime with my grandma. During lockdown, we do art projects together as part of my home schooling. She will come up with an idea and then teaches me how to make it while she makes it at the same time. I haven’t seen them for two-and-a-half years now which makes me sad sometimes.

I love where I live though and have many friends here. I love it because there is no Donald Trump here. I love being outside, doing stuff in nature and I love koalas. I love going to Little Sahara because I can go sandboarding there. I also love Pennington Bay kiddie pool before it was destroyed by the rocks, it’s like a little protected cove. We have adventures out there with friends in summer. I love swimming and the cave, the beach, the whirlpool and the starfish.

I go to Penneshaw school with all my friends, it’s good because I sort of know most people there. I don’t like going to school but when Mum did home schooling, it was awful. I shared home schooling with another family to make it more fun. Belle, Ivy and me just played and went on adventures with our parents. Their dad did an experiment with us where we had a bottle of Coca Cola and we put mentos in it and it exploded, that was cool. We had stick horse races for the Olympics while studying the equestrian’s events too.

I love arts and crafts; I have my own desk for it and I make lots of things that I see on arts and crafts videos or get ideas from my friend Piper. I often make keychains out of clay and give them to my grandparents, friends, Mum and Dad and I am even thinking about selling them at the Farmer’s Markets.

I have been doing gymnastics in Kingscote for about a year with my friends. It’s fun because we all ride there together and the girls go cuckoo.

I don’t have any siblings, sometimes I sort of wish I had one but I am happy by myself. I’ve got a trampoline, tree house, orchids, chicken, kangaroos, echidnas and baby ducks, which are adorable, and I play out there with my friends and parents. We also have a family pet, a dog called Chilli, but when he goes, we will get a baby dog. I would love a fluffy little one like a Cavoodle because they are so cute. Chilli is fourteen and he is technically a rescue dog and was here before me, he came over with Mum and Dad from Adelaide.

I can hear boobook owls at night, it’s pretty cool, better than the noise of the city. I can’t imagine living up there because it is way too noisy.

I’ve never thought about what I want to do when I grow up but I’d like to see a bunny one day because they are cute. I always wanted to go to Paris too, I don’t know why, I just want to go. I haven’t seen pictures of it, I just think it would be interesting.”

Published by sabrinadavis5223

I am a German living in South Australia. We lost our home and farm in the Kangaroo island summer bushfires. I love travelling, reading, beach walks, board games, watching movies and spending time with my family.

Leave a Reply