Cherrie

“I was born in Adelaide and moved to Wallaroo with my family when I was three years old. When I was twelve, my Dad got the opportunity to move to Port Lincoln, so we did. My Mum and Dad have always worked in hotels; they ran the ‘Peninsula’ and also the Hilton motel.
Back in 2OO3, Port Power stayed at the hotel and I became good friends with Che Cockatoo-Collins. I had breakfast with him and the team. I love sport, especially AFL. I have played netball since I was eight. I have also coached and played netball on the island for Western Districts; a massive highlight was coaching the winning premiership side back-to-back to back-to-back in the 2017/18 season.
Later on, my parents bought a hotel on the Eyre Peninsula and I did my certificate in hospitality and also got my pokie badge even though we didn’t have pokies.

Unfortunately, there were no single guys but I knew I wanted to experience love, marriage and kids.
So one day, I decided to go on a dating site and went on two blind dates which didn’t work out—then, luckily, I came across Jared. Me and Jared had been texting back and forth for a little while and decided it was time to meet. For our first date, we met at the Rundle Mall pigs and later that evening when checking into our motel and while opening up a packet of burger rings, Jared got down on one knee with a burger ring and asked me if I’d go out with him again. I just knew he was for me after that; he could just make me smile and laugh which is important to me. I moved to Kangaroo Island within five months of dating and on our one-year anniversary we found out we were having Benjamin and just before the fires last summer we had Kimberly. Family means a lot to me. I miss my family back home as they are still over on the Eyre Peninsula and we don’t get to see them much, but we make the most of it when we see them, or they come and see us.
After now six years on the island, I still love it. The people I have met have always been friendly and make you feel part of a community which is something I love.” 

Published by sabrinadavis5223

I am a German living in South Australia. We lost our home and farm in the Kangaroo island summer bushfires. I love travelling, reading, beach walks, board games, watching movies and spending time with my family.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: